Related articles

Festival de Film de Monte Carlo 2020
Festival de Film de Monte Carlo 2020

Dans le plein respect des mesures sanitaires, ...

read more

Golden Foot 2011 Award

côte d'azur | …events

10 October 2011

2011 Golden Foot prize-giving ceremony will take place tonight, from 8 PM (Monte Carlo time). The most voted player, among the ten candidates chosen by International media partner of the award, will receive the golden mould with diamonds stars by H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco. With the winner, also International football stars as Luis Figo (Portugal), Ruud Gullit (Holland), Rabah Madjer (Algeria) and Abedi Ayew "Pelé" (Ghana) will leave their footprints on the Champions Promenade at the Principality 's seafront.

Ryan Giggs is the 2011 Golden Foot winner. The Welshman, iconic Manchester United FC midfielder, has received the highest number of votes among the ten nominees chosen by the International jury. In order, he beat Javier Zanetti, Samuel Eto'o and Xavi Hernandez. Giggs wins the golden mould with diamonds stars after being candidate for years and thanks to an extraordinary career, now celebrated by the Principality of Monaco. After receiving the award by the hands of H.S.H. Prince Albert II, Giggs has left his footprints on the Champions Promenade, the Walk of Fame of International football in the Principality seafront.